KRW (₩)

Currency: South Korean won

The South Korean won is the official currency of South Korea. One US dollar is worth around 1,200.00 KRW. The South Korean won is the currency of South Korea. It was first introduced in 1902, replacing the Korean yen. The won is divided into 100 jeon. The currency is issued by the Bank of Korea. The South Korean won has been subject to high inflation, so banknotes are issued in denominations as high as 50,000 won. The South Korean won is widely accepted in South Korea and is often used for transactions in neighboring countries.